NAAPAC Board of Directors


Joel Wong (California)

President, Executive Committee
  • National Board of Advisors, APAPA (Asian Pacific Islander American Public Affairs Association)
  • 10 years as APAPA San Francisco Bay Area Regional President
  • 2 terms President of CAPA (Chinese American Political Association) and CAPA Community Education Fund
  • Chair and President of APAC (Asian Pacific American Council)
  • Board Member of AAGG  PAC (Asian American for Good Government)
  • Retired Engineer/Scientist from Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory




Mengmeng Gu (Texas)

Secretary, Executive Committee

Dr. Mengmeng Gu is a professor working for the Texas A&M University System. She has lived in Arkansas and Mississippi and now resides in Texas. In 2021, she ran for local school board for the first time and received over 22% votes, although she did not win the seat. She is actively involved in volunteering in politics and cares about Asian representation in American politics.



Yee Leng Xiong (Wisconsin)

Treasurer, Executive Committee

Occupation: Executive Director of the Hmong American Center, Inc.

Public Service:

  • Marathon County Board of Supervisors, District 19
  • Village of Weston Board of Trustees
  • DC Everest School Board, Clerk
  • Governor’s Financial Literacy Council, Member
  • State of Wisconsin Affirmative Action Council, Member

Other Organizations Involved with:

  • Wisconsin League of Municipalities, Board Member
  • Central Wisconsin Convention and Visitor’s Bureau, Board President
  • Wisconsin United Coalition of Mutual Assistance Association, Board President
  • CoVantage Credit Union Community Development Advisory Committee

Awards Received:

  • Young Professional of the Year Award by the Hmong Wisconsin Chamber of Commerce
  • Impact Award, Individual Recognition by the CVB of Central Wisconsin
  • Citizen of the Year by the Marathon County Labor Council AFL-CIO
  • 20 Under Forty Award presented by Wausau Daily Herald
  • Community and Leadership Award from Xiong United, Inc.
  • Make a Difference Award from WUCMAA



Munsup Seoh, Ph.D. (Ohio)

Executive Committee
  • Munsup received his B.S. (1970) and M.S. (1975) in Mathematics at Sogang University in Seoul, Korea.
  • Full Professor at the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Wright State University
  • Member of the American Statistical Association (ASA) Committee on Minorities in Statistics from 2003-2009
  •  Involved member with American Scientist and Engineers Association, Korean-American University Professors Association and Phi Beta International Honor Society for International Education




Kathleen To (Texas)

Executive Committee
  • Associate Founder, Life Member and President of 80-20 (2007-08)
  • Founder of Texas Progressive Voice – 2009
  • President & CEO of KATO Foundation; Retired Texas business entrepreneur
  • The Honorary Commercial Attaché appointed by Governor Ann Richards (1991)
  • The skin cancer research team member at the University of Texas (1969-1978)




Francine Ly (Texas)

Chair, Election Monitoring Committee, Executive Committee

Francine Ly is a certified court manager for the 134th District Court in Dallas County, Texas working for Texas State District Judge James M. Stanton (12/2010) and Judge Dale Tillery (12/2010 to present).

From 1995 to 2001, she worked as a district office legislative aide for Texas House District 105. From 2001 to 2010, she was the Legal Administrative Assistant at the law office of Tillery and Tillery.

In her numerous leadership roles, she has served as the Treasurer for the Carrollton Youth Football League (a 501c3 non-profit organization) from 2007 to 2012, as Election Judge in various municipal/primary/general elections, she currently serves as a Scholarship Reader/Reviewer for AANAPISI and APIA Scholars (formerly the Asian & Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund), she is an appointee to the DART’s Citizens Advisory Committee since 2014.

She was born in Phenom Phen, Cambodia, and grew up in Dallas, Texas. She obtained her bachelor’s degree in Legal Studies from Kaplan University in 2007. She is married with four minor children.



Ming Tao Jiang (Wisconsin)

Chair, Nomination Committee, Executive Committee

Ming Tao Jiang was born and raised in Shandong, China. He was trained as a physician there before obtaining his Ph.D. in Physiology in 1995 in Canada. He relocated to Wisconsin in 1996 to conduct research on cardiac protection. He was an Assistant Scientist at UW-Madison and later as an Assistant Professor at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Since 2010 he has turned himself into a ginseng farmer and founded Marathon Ginseng International Inc in Wisconsin. His ginseng products have earned the trust of consumers in the US and Asia.

He has been active in community service for the last 20 years. He served as the founding editor of Milwaukee Chinese Times and a board member of the Milwaukee Chinese Community Center. He currently serves on the board of’ Project Access Inc, a nonprofit organization serving the mental health needs of Milwaukee County WI, and Hmong American Center, a community organization in Wisconsin. He helped the founding of United Chinese Americans Inc, a national nonpartisan civic organization as well as its Wisconsin Chapter.

He was active in supporting Andrew Yang’s 2020 presidential campaign as well as Lindy Li’s 2016 congressional campaign.



Jose Estevez (California)

  • Mayor of Milpitas, CA (2010-2016 and 2002 to 2008)
  • City Council Member of Milpitas, CA (1998 to 2002)
  • John F. Kennedy School of Government
  • UCLA Anderson School of Management
  • BS Civil Engineering, BS Industrial Engineering, and an MBA from the University of the Philippines, Diliman
  • Informations Systems Specialist, Santa Clara County Superior Court
  • Instrumental in the Typhoon Haiyan effort
  • Member Lions Club, Knights of Columbus, and the Rotary Club



Fang Fang (Texas)


Fang Fang has worked both on the Hill and at the local level in government, media and technology. She is committed to bing her unique experience with millennial perspective to contribute to the AAPI communities as a whole through 80-20 PAC.

Fang Fang works with the U.S. Census Bureau as a Partnership Specialist in Austin. She created the Austin Asian Complete Count Committee to mobilize 150+ Asian in the Greater Austin area to participate in the 2020 decennial Census. It quickly became the model for other ethnic Committees across the Central Texas region.

Prior joining the U.S. Census Bureau, Fang Fang co-founded a technology startup to provide supply-chain solutions for small international e-commerce vendors. She travelled to 35 cities in a year in Asia and Latin America to study the local markets as well as their entrepreneur ecosystem.

Prior to that, Fang Fang worked in Public Affairs at Edelman’s New York office, mainly facilitating global companies to navigate in the U.S. market and society. She also worked as a Congressional Reporter in Washington, DC with Voice of America Chinese Branch, before transferring to New York as its New York Correspondent.

When she is not working, Fang Fang is on her way to some part of the world for another adventure with her books, camera and Salsa dancing shoes.



Ching Chang Tsai, Ph.D. (Texas)

  • PhD. in Geophysics
  • Retired after working in domestic and international upstream exploration for over 30 years
  • Global traveler
  • Fiscally conservative but socially more open.
Copyright © NAA United | All Rights Reserved | Tax ID No. 82-5266503 | Maintained by Cedric Cheng Design